First Offense DUI in West Virginia
When it comes to DUI, it is considered to be a serious issue in West Virginia. When someone is getting charged with a DUI offense, it can have several degrees of seriousness. It is not necessarily the end of the world. But at the same time, don't consider the first offense DUI to be something minor either.
When it comes to first offense DUI, it is generally considered to be a minor misdemeanor. Now, most of the time drivers in West Virginia commit a common mistake. They think of these as minor charges and pay the fine. What they fail to realize is that even though minor, the first offense DUI can have a serious impact in the long run. And that is why hiring a Morgantown DUI lawyer is essential so that they can defend them and get the charges dismissed altogether the first time itself.
If you are looking for West Virginia DUI lawyer for your first offense DUI cases, then come to us at Mountaineer Criminal Law Group. We have represented many clients and have the reputation to be considered your ideal law firm in West Virginia.
Penalties of First Offense DUI in West Virginia
In West Virginia, there are several types of penalties laid out for first-time DUI offenders.
- If the blood alcohol concentration or BAC is higher than .15%, then you will get from 48 hours to 6 months of jail time. One needs to serve 24 days at least. If the BAC is below .15%, you will have to pay the fine of $500 and if above then up to $1000.
- In the case of first offense, when the BAC is below .15%, it will be called non-aggravated DUI. If you are convicted of this, you might lose your driver's license for six months or you will need to install an ignition interlock device for the next 140 days. If the BAC is above .15%, then it will be considered as aggravated DUI. In this case, if you are convicted, your license will be suspended for one year. Or you will have to install an ignition interlock device for ten and one-half months.
When you are charged for first offense DUI, it may feel tempting to pay the fine and get away with it. But when it comes to the repercussions of your fine, it can be long-term. When you are paying the fine, you are pleading guilty, which means that the offense will remain in your record. And the next time you are charged, your first offense will be calculated too. This is why you need to find the right Morgantown DUI lawyer and fight the charges.
Connect with West Virginia DUI lawyer
Your first offense can be a momentary lapse of judgment. And you don't deserve to take these charges along for the rest of your life. We, at Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, understand that. Sean Logue is an experienced West Virginia DUI lawyer with a record of successful DUI cases. Come to us and we will take care of your case too. Give us a call for a free consultation.