Serving the State of West Virginia

Marijuana Laws

  • Lead Counsel Rated
  • AVVO Client Choice
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • AVVO Top 10
  • Super Lawyers
  • Expertise 2020
  • Expertise 2021
  • PACDL
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 40

    Marijuana Laws in Morgantown

    In the state of West Virginia, the possession, sale or distribution of marijuana may be considered either a misdemeanor or a felony.

    Here’s a guide to marijuana-centric offenses in West Virginia, and the associated penalties.

    Cultivation

    In West Virginia, the act of cultivating marijuana plants may result in either a simple possession charge, or a possession with intent to deliver charge, depending on the weight of the plants. The penalties associated with those charges are assessed.

    Forfeiture

    All items involved in the production and/or transport of controlled substances – including cars, real estate, and monetary funds – are eligible to be forfeited to the state of West Virginia after the successful prosecution of these types of drug cases.

    As for paraphernalia? Any property (including money) used in violation of the West Virginia law governing illegal drugs may be seized and forfeited to the state.

    Paraphernalia

    In the state of West Virginia, a person who conducts, finances, manages, supervises, directs or owns an illegal drug paraphernalia business is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no more than $5,000, or a jail sentence of at least six months and for no longer than a year.

    Additionally, attempts to adulterate a drug test is a criminal offense, as is possessing or distributing products for that purpose.

    Those convicted of a first offense is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no more than $1,000, while those convicted of a second offense may be fined as much as $5,000. Those convicted of a third or subsequent offense may be fined as much as $10,000, may be sentenced to no more than one year in jail, or both.

    Possession of Marijuana

    Possession of marijuana – in any amount – is considered a misdemeanor in West Virginia, which is punishable by at least 90 days (but no more than six months) in jail. A fine of no more than $1,000 may also be assessed.

    Second and subsequent offenses are subject to a double penalty.

    Sale or Distribution of Marijuana

    The sale or distribution of marijuana in West Virginia is a felony that carries a jail sentence of no less than one year and no more than five years. A fine of not more than $15,000 may also be assessed.

    Those convicted of trafficking marijuana into West Virginia may be sentenced to a jail sentence of between one and five years. A fine of as much as $15,000 may also be assessed.

    The penalties for selling or distributing marijuana to a minor is even more severe, especially when that sale took place within 1,000 feet of a school. There is a two-year minimum sentence in these cases.

    Schedule a Free Consultation Today

    Schedule a Consultation
    • “Mr. Logue gave attention to our problem immediately and resolved the issue for us quickly. He is an attorney who is respected, not just by us but the court system.” - Former Client
    • “Sean Logue has a good relationship with the DA, but still pushed them to have a trial and I was found not guilty of the felony charge.” - Former Client
    • “Don't waste your time looking for anyone else to help you. Mr. Logue did an amazing job and very professional!” - Former Client

    CHoOSE A LAWYER LIKE YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT

    Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation

    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your phone number.
      This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.