We Defend Your Future after DUI Conviction
You just had a fun night at Hollywood Casino or at a party with your friends and now you are driving back home. And just then a police officer asks you to pull over and your fun night out turns into a nightmare. You will not only end up in jail but will also have to pay huge fines and your license might also be revoked. To deal with this situation, you need proper legal representation by a Morgantown DUI lawyer.
At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we have handled many DUI cases with various circumstances involved. Our Morgantown criminal lawyer will ensure that your rights are protected and you are getting reduced to zero punishments for the DUI charges. We will ensure that you can keep your license, assert your rights, and get reduced legal and professional penalties. We will aggressively fight your case in the courtroom.
Understanding DUI Laws in West Virginia
In West Virginia, you are not permitted to drive when your BAC or blood alcohol concentration is above .08%. Also, in West Virginia, the moment you are sitting behind the wheels, you are automatically consenting to a chemical test incase the police ask you to pull over.
The penalties for DUI will depend on the number of your offenses. In any case, our Morgantown DUI lawyer will be able to defend you.
First Time DUI Offense,/h3>
If you are charged with DUI for the first time with a BAC of less than .15%, you can get jail time for up to 6 months. You have to pay a fine ranging from $100 to $500. In case your BAC is more than .15%, the jail time will be from two days to six months. You have to pay a fine ranging from $200 to $1000.
Second DUI Offense
If you are convicted of a second DUI offense, you will get a minimum of 6 months of jail sentence which can become 12 months too. You have to pay a fine ranging from $1000 to $3000. Apart from that, you will get one year of license suspension and compulsory installation of the ignition interlock device.
Third DUI Offense
In this case, you will have to face jail time of two to five years. You have to pay a fine ranging from $3000 to $5000. Along with that, your license will be suspended for one year.
Defending DUI Cases in West Virginia
DUI conviction can lead to loss of employment, educational opportunities, and even housing. Also, your reputation will be at stake. Hence, the primary aim of our Morgantown criminal lawyer will be to get the charges dropped. We will fight aggressively and challenge as much evidence as possible to ensure that you get to keep all the penalties at bay. We will focus on details and ensure you get the right outcome.
Connect with Us Today
At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we have handled many such cases of DUI and ensured a satisfactory outcome for our clients. Our Morgantown DUI lawyer will listen to your case and guide you in the right direction and defend you aggressively. For a consultation with our Morgantown criminal lawyer, give us a call today.