DUI DWI Defense in West Virginia
We Help You Protect Your Right and License to Drive
When it comes to DUI and DWI cases, this is the most common and yet most serious type of criminal charges an average person can face in a lifetime. Your freedom, the privilege of driving, and your license will be at stake. Along with that, your reputation will be tarnished too. So, if you or your loved one has been charged with such a crime, you need to build the best defense for your case. And our Morgantown DUI lawyer can do it for you.
At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we have handled hundreds of DUI and DWI cases and our lawyers have been able to get the charges dropped every time as well as have protected the privileged and the license for driving. So, if you are looking for a Morgantown criminal lawyer, we are the best team to help you.
Will You Lose Your License?
If you are in Kentucky and your license has been suspended for the first time, it will be for thirty days. If it is your second offense, your license will be suspended for one year. For the third offense, it will be for two years. If you are in the state of West Virginia, for DUI conviction, your license gets suspended for six months for your first offense. In the case of the second offense, it will be for one year.
If you want to keep your license, the best way is to avoid the conviction. However, when you are charged with a DUI offense, not hiring a lawyer can be a big mistake as a case of even a misdemeanor can add a criminal record which can affect your chances of employment, education, and housing. That is why you need the help of our Morgantown DUI lawyer. Our aim will be to throw out the evidence while making sure that the charges will be reduced or the case will be dismissed.
DUI Penalties in Kentucky and Virginia
The most common result or punishments for DUI convictions will be jail time, a fine of $1000, and losing your driver’s license. These penalties get elevated when there are aggravated circumstances in your case. If there are other factors involved in the case like minor in the car, speeding, refusal to a breath test, and driving without a license or revoked license, then you are going to face more serious consequences. Our Morgantown criminal lawyer will ensure that you don’t have to face any of these consequences.
If the BAC or blood alcohol concentration level is higher than .15%, this is also considered to be aggravated circumstances. The other ones include,
- Driving with a child under 12 years old in the car
- Refusal to submit for the BAC test
- Driving over 30mph or over the speed limit
Our Morgantown DUI lawyer will help you deal with the cases involving any of the aforementioned situations. Connect with our Morgantown criminal lawyer today
Mountaineer Criminal Law Group is here to help you with unprecedented circumstances. Our Morgantown DUI lawyer will listen to your case diligently and offer you the right legal advice and guidance. We will also aggressively defend you in the court of law. For a free consultation, give us a call today.