Serving the State of West Virginia

DMV Penalties

  • Lead Counsel Rated
  • AVVO Client Choice
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • AVVO Top 10
  • Super Lawyers
  • Expertise 2020
  • Expertise 2021
  • PACDL
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 40

    DMV Penalties

    Protect Your Driving Privileges

    Many people don’t realize that driver’s license suspensions are commonplace in DUI arrests, or they think that the license suspension hearing takes place as part of the criminal DUI process. The process is actually separate from the criminal trial – it is an administrative process that is handled through the Department of Motor Vehicles. As soon as an arrest is made for DUI, the driver needs to request a DMV hearing within 30 days or risk losing driving privileges for an extended period of time.

    Friends Don’t Let Friends Go Unrepresented. It is important to work with an experienced attorney in the administrative process to ensure that you retain your driving privileges. At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, our Morgantown lawyers defend clients in West Virginia against DUI charges and help clients through the DMV’s administrative driver’s license process. Call (304) 584-DUI1 to talk to an attorney right away.

    Arrested for DUI in Monongalia County, West Virginia – West Virginia DMV Penalties

    West Virginia is strict when it comes to DUI-related license suspensions. DMV penalties can include:

    • Revocation: Even a first offense DUI can result in a six-month revocation of driving privileges, and a third or subsequent offense can mean a life-long suspension.
    • Ignition interlock: Ignition interlock is a Breathalyzer device attached to the ignition of your car, requiring you to blow into the device before starting your car. If it reads that you have been drinking the car will not start. In West Virginia, even first-time offenders can face the interlock requirement for 270 days. Refusing to submit to a chemical blood alcohol content (BAC) test can result in a suspension of one year plus one year for each prior conviction on your record.
    • Alcohol safety treatment course: Before your license can be reinstated, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee and complete an alcohol safety treatment course requirement.

    The ignition interlock requirement is part of the state’s Test and Lock Program, with elaborate requirements for the retention of driving privileges. Our lawyers are familiar with the West Virginia Test and Lock Program, and we can help you through all aspects of retaining your driving privileges.

    Contact the Mountaineer Criminal Law Group – Free Initial Consultations

    At The Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we provide potential clients with free, in-depth consultations and flexible scheduling options. Call (304) 900-3391 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation.

    Schedule a Free Consultation Today

    Schedule a Consultation
    • “Mr. Logue gave attention to our problem immediately and resolved the issue for us quickly. He is an attorney who is respected, not just by us but the court system.” - Former Client
    • “Sean Logue has a good relationship with the DA, but still pushed them to have a trial and I was found not guilty of the felony charge.” - Former Client
    • “Don't waste your time looking for anyone else to help you. Mr. Logue did an amazing job and very professional!” - Former Client

    CHoOSE A LAWYER LIKE YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT

    Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation

    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your phone number.
      This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.