DUI with Minor in the Vehicle
Hire Mountaineer Criminal Law Group for DUI Child Endangerment Cases
In West Virginia law is pretty strict for someone who has been charged with DUI. Now, if you are dealing with the charges, there are serious consequences waiting for you. However, if you have been charged while driving under the influence while there is a minor in your car, then the charge will become more severe. This way you are putting the child at risk and this is the reason why you will face life-altering penalties.
Cases like this are very difficult to defend and only 3% of Morgantown Criminal Lawyer have that amount of knowledge and ability to deal with the case. So, if you are dealing with a situation like this, come to us at Mountaineer Criminal Law Group. Our Morgantown DUI Lawyer will help you with the charges and will try to get all the charges dropped. So, if you are looking for legal assistance, come to us.
Child Endangerment Law in West Virginia
The law in West Virginia is very strict for child endangerment. When you are driving a car with a child or a minor in the vehicle while you are under influence, you are endangering their life. DUI exposes you to potential risks. And when you have a minor in the car, this can be life-threatening for you. In most of the states, the age for the minor in the car is limited to 14 years. But in West Virginia, if the age of a minor in the car is below 16 years, then it can put you at risk. And driving a car under influence with a child or a minor will lead to an increased sentence.
When you are dealing with a case like this, it is obvious that really complicated consequences are waiting for you. Only an experienced Morgantown Criminal Lawyer will help you deal with this. Mountaineer Criminal Law Group is the team where you can find an experienced Morgantown DUI Lawyer who can offer you the right legal guidance while defending you aggressively in the court with the aim to get all your charges dropped completely.
Will You Face Jail Time for DUI Child Endangerment?
The courts in West Virginia can be harsh in their judgment when it comes to cases of child endangerment. When you are driving a car under influence, it is a punishable offense anyway. And additionally, if you are driving with your child or someone else’s child in the car, you are endangering his or her life. This results in aggravated situations. Hence, in this case, jail time is compulsory for the convicted.
Jurors also convict the offender quickly depending on the grave situation. The penalties of the first offense of child endangerment include,
- Jail time for minimum of 48 hours to 12 months
- Huge fines from $200 to $1000
- Suspension of the driving license for one year
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for one year
To reduce these penalties, you need to hire a Morgantown DUI Lawyer who can help you with the legal proceedings.
Connect With Us Today
At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we have handled cases of child endangerment in the past and have successfully helped our clients get the best resolution. Get in touch with our Morgantown Criminal Lawyer. We will listen to your case diligently and help you get through the situation. Call us today for a free consultation.