Super Lawyers 2022
Avvo Rating 10
National College for DUI Defense
Avvo Clients Choice Award
LC Rated

First Offense DUI in West Virginia

When it comes to DUI cases, they are regarded as serious offenses in the state of West Virginia. The severity of these charges depends on the nature of the crime. While facing a DUI charge is not the end of the world, it should not be taken lightly or considered a minor offense.

Although the first offense DUI is generally classified as a minor felony, drivers in West Virginia often make the mistake of regarding it as a minor crime and just paying the fine. However, what many fail to realize is that even though the charge may be minor, the long-term consequences of a first offense DUI can be significant. Therefore, it is crucial to hire a Hancock County DUI lawyer who can effectively defend drivers and seek acquittal for their first offense charges.

When searching for a Hancock County criminal lawyer to handle your first offense DUI case, look no further than Mountaineer Criminal Law Group. With a strong track record of representing numerous clients, we have earned a reputation as one of the top law firms in the state.

Penalties for First-Offense DUI Cases in West Virginia

In West Virginia, there are several penalties for individuals convicted of a first offense DUI. Here is what you need to know:

  • If the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeds 0.15%, jail time ranging from 48 hours to 6 months is likely, with an average minimum duration of 24 days. For BAC levels below 0.15%, a fine of $500 will be imposed. However, for higher BAC levels, the penalty may increase to $1000.
  • For first-time offenders with a BAC level below 0.15%, the case is considered non-aggravated DUI. If convicted, the driver may face a six-month license suspension or the installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of 140 days. In the case of a BAC level above 0.15%, it is deemed an aggravated DUI. If convicted, a one-year license suspension or the installation of an ignition interlock device for approximately 10 and a half months is mandatory.

When facing charges for a first-time DUI offense, you may feel overwhelmed by the need to cover fines and avoid further punishments. However, it’s important to understand that the consequences of your fine could extend beyond the immediate impact. Simply paying the fine is equivalent to pleading guilty and may result in the offense remaining on your record. As a result, it’s crucial to seek the assistance of a qualified Martinsburg DUI lawyer to handle your case.

Contact a Skilled West Virginia DUI Lawyer

Your first offense may have been a mistake and not intentional. It doesn’t necessarily mean a lifetime of punishment. Visit Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, where Sean Logue, an experienced Martinsburg DUI lawyer, has an impressive track record of achieving favorable outcomes in DUI cases. Visit our website or call us for an initial free consultation. We are here to help you navigate through this challenging time.

Client Reviews

I had hired Mr. Logue a few years ago for my gf at the time for charges she had gotten before I had met her, for prostitution. Big mistake to date her and pay for her lawyer as we didn’t work out but Mr. Logue far exceeded expectations. He got nearly all charges in 2 separate cases dropped for her...


I was arrested on a felony 3 charge looking at at least up to 2 years in prison. County District Attorney didn't want to negotiate. After a lot of hard work, Sean was able to plead the case all the way down to just 90 days jail with a work release. Better deal than I realistically could have hoped...

Former Client

Mr. Logue took our son’s cases on very short notice (the first lawyer we hired wasn’t getting anywhere with either of the prosecutors and had actually turned one of the cases over to the court-appointed attorney). We hired Mr. Logue to go to trial if needed, but he worked with both prosecutors and...

Former Client

Get in Touch

Fill out the contact form or call us at (304) 381-3656
to schedule your free consultation.
  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer

Leave Us a Message