CHOOSE A LAWYER LIKE YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT.
Get a Strong Morgantown Domestic Abuse Attorney on Your Side
Whether you allowed your emotions to take over and have made threats or attempts to physically harm another person, or a bystander to your argument called the police unnecessarily, you will most likely be arrested for domestic violence. West Virginia law requires police to make an arrest when they are called to any domestic disturbance. Fighting these charges also involves fighting an automatic negative bias against you, and it is vital to retain a skilled, experienced and diligent criminal defense attorney to defend you.
At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, our attorneys have experience handling domestic violence and domestic abuse cases, which has equipped us with the skills to provide the reliable legal representation you need. From start to finish, we examine the circumstances of your arrest, talk to witnesses and build an effective defense that may help you secure the optimal result possible against your domestic violence charge.
What Is Domestic Violence?
In West Virginia, domestic violence is defined as any act or threatened act of violence upon someone with whom the accused has had an intimate relationship. This means individuals do not have to be married in order to be charged with domestic violence – parents, step-parents, roommates, partners or anyone residing in the same household can be accused of domestic violence crimes. The following acts are considered domestic violence in West Virginia:
- Actual or threatened physical harm
- Sexual assault
- Sexual battery
- Statutory rape
- Criminal harassment, such as threatening letters or phone calls
- Pushing, hitting, slapping, choking, kicking or biting
Experienced Lawyers Fighting to Preserve Your Rights
Clients charged with domestic violence face serious consequences:
- Prison sentence
- Permanent restraining order
- Inability to return to your house
- Inability to see your children
- Difficulty finding or keeping a job
- Difficulty finding or keeping an apartment
- Mandatory enrollment in a domestic violence treatment program
- If an immigrant, loss of immigrant privileges
- Inability to possess firearms
At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we can guide you through the necessary steps to protect yourself and keep the situation from getting worse.
Detailed Penalties for Breaching the Law
- Such offenses are punishable up to 6 months in jail and potential fines of up to $100.
- Second offense punishment will be enhancement for 30 days to 6 months of jail time and $500 penalty.
- Domestic battery can lead up to 1 year of jail and $500 penalty.
- Second offense of domestic battery can cause more than 60 days to 1 year imprisonment and $1000 penalty.
In such a situation you not only need the legal assistance from the most experienced lawyers but also support from the people who know how to do it right. At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group we have a team of lawyers with the right skill and experience to fight for you.
Don’t Delay, Contact Us Today
When you have been charged with domestic violence in West Virginia, choose a criminal defense attorney with the experience and dedication to make a difference. Call (304) 900-3391 or contact us online to schedule a confidential case evaluation. With offices conveniently located in Morgantown, Mountaineer Criminal Law Group stands ready to represent you in your domestic violence case.
Get in TouchFill out the contact form or call us at (304) 900-3391
to schedule your free consultation.
- 1 Free Consultation
- 2 Available 24/7
- 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer