CHOOSE A LAWYER LIKE YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT.
Suspended Driving / Traffic Offenses
West Virginia Driving Offenses Attorney Driving While Suspended
There are two types of driving while suspended charges in West Virginia, the regular driving while suspended “(a)” offense, and the more serious “(b)” offense of driving while suspended (DUI related).
The “(a)” offense in West Virginia is a misdemeanor that carries a fine of between $100 and $500. Please note that a conviction of a third (or more) offense can result in thirty to ninety days in jail.
Driving Under a DUI Suspension – Penalties
Driving while suspended (DUI related) carries stiff penalties. In West Virginia, upon conviction, a jail sentence of 30 days to 6 months is mandatory, as well as a $100 to $500 fine. A second offense can result in a sentence of 6 months to a year of jail time, and a fine of $1,000 to $3,000. A third or subsequent offense will result in jail time in a state correctional facility for 1 to 3 years and a fine of $3,000 to $5,000.
A conviction for a speeding ticket or other type of traffic violation is no easy matter. It can result in points being assessed on your driver’s license, fines, court costs, your insurance premiums may increase, and your license could be suspended depending on your driving history.
Effective Morgantown, West Virginia Criminal Attorney
You need an attorney to examine your case and see if he can reduce or eliminate the penalties listed. I have represented people in traffic court in West Virginia.
Contact my office at (304) 381-3656 to discuss ways to fight your driving while suspended or traffic tickets, and hopefully avoid mandatory incarceration and fines.
Get in TouchFill out the contact form or call us at (304) 381-3656
to schedule your free consultation.
- 1 Free Consultation
- 2 Available 24/7
- 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer