Super Lawyers 2022
Avvo Rating 10
National College for DUI Defense
Avvo Clients Choice Award
LC Rated

First Offense DUI in West Virginia

DUI cases in the state of West Virginia are major offenses that shouldn’t be taken lightly. Depending on the nature of the crime, the severity of charges can vary. While it may not be the end of the world, it’s crucial to understand that a first offense DUI is not a minor charge. Many drivers make the mistake of considering it as such and opt to pay the fine without realizing the potential long-term consequences. This is where the importance of hiring a Wellsburg WV DUI lawyer comes in. With their expertise and defense strategies, they can help drivers acquit the charges for their first offense.

At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we understand the gravity of first offense DUI cases. Our experienced Wellsburg WV criminal lawyers have successfully represented numerous clients in similar situations, establishing our reputation as one of the top law firms in the state. When it comes to resolving your first offense DUI case, trust us to provide you with exceptional legal assistance.

Penalties to pay for First-Offense DUI cases in West Virginia

When it comes to DUI cases in West Virginia, first-time offenders face various penalties. Here’s what you need to know:

  • If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) exceeds .15%, you could be sentenced to jail for 48 hours up to 6 months, with the average duration being 24 days. For BAC levels below .15%, a fine of $500 may be imposed, increasing up to $1000 for higher levels.
  • For a non-aggravated DUI case, where the BAC is below .15%, your driving license may be suspended for six months. Alternatively, you might need to install an ignition interlock device for 140 days. In contrast, an aggravated DUI case, with a BAC above .15%, could result in a one-year license suspension or the installation of an ignition interlock device for ten and a half months.

Facing charges for a first-offense DUI can be overwhelming. It’s important to understand that paying the fine is equivalent to pleading guilty, which may leave the offense on your record. To navigate these complex consequences effectively, seek the assistance of a reputable Wellsburg WV criminal lawyer.

Contact a West Virginia DUI Lawyer

Your first offense might have been an unintentional mistake, and you don’t have to face lifelong punishment. Reach out to Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, where Sean Logue, a highly experienced Wellsburg WV DUI lawyer, has a remarkable track record of achieving favorable outcomes in DUI cases. Visit us or call us for a free initial consultation, and let us handle your troubles professionally.

Client Reviews

I had hired Mr. Logue a few years ago for my gf at the time for charges she had gotten before I had met her, for prostitution. Big mistake to date her and pay for her lawyer as we didn’t work out but Mr. Logue far exceeded expectations. He got nearly all charges in 2 separate cases dropped for her...


I was arrested on a felony 3 charge looking at at least up to 2 years in prison. County District Attorney didn't want to negotiate. After a lot of hard work, Sean was able to plead the case all the way down to just 90 days jail with a work release. Better deal than I realistically could have hoped...

Former Client

Mr. Logue took our son’s cases on very short notice (the first lawyer we hired wasn’t getting anywhere with either of the prosecutors and had actually turned one of the cases over to the court-appointed attorney). We hired Mr. Logue to go to trial if needed, but he worked with both prosecutors and...

Former Client

Get in Touch

Fill out the contact form or call us at (304) 381-3656
to schedule your free consultation.
  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer

Leave Us a Message