DUI Penalties

Understanding DUI Penalties: A Guide for West Virginia

Facing a DUI can be daunting, and the legal consequences are serious. We’ll break down what you might expect in terms of penalties, with a focus on West Virginia’s laws. Whether it’s your first, second, or subsequent offense, understanding these penalties with the help of a Fairmont DUI lawyer can help you navigate the legal process.

First-Time Offenders

For those without any previous DUI incidents, consequences can include:

  • Up to 12 months of jail time, especially if a minor below 16 is in the vehicle.
  • Mandatory suspension of your driving license.
  • A requirement to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
  • Enrollment in mandatory education and treatment classes.

Repeat Offenses

Penalties escalate with additional DUI charges:

  • For a second DUI offense, jail time ranges from six months to a year, with fines from $1,000 to $3,000.
  • Mandatory one-year license suspension.
  • Installation of an interlock device.
  • Enrollment in an alcohol education program.
  • Those with two or more DUI convictions could be looking at one to three years of incarceration.
  • Fines may soar to between $3,000 and $5,000.
  • Again, expect a year without a license and the installation of the interlock device.
  • Additional educational or treatment programs will be required.

Different Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Levels and Associated Penalties

West Virginia Law is strict and detailed when it comes to BAC levels:

  • Commercial Drivers: A BAC level at or above .04% is critical, potentially resulting in one to three years without a license, especially if the vehicle transports hazardous materials.
  • Private Individuals: Reckless driving charges can be levied at BAC levels between .05% to .079%.
  • Underage Drivers: West Virginia has zero tolerance for drivers under 21 with a BAC at or above .02%, resulting in charges that could lead to a conviction for drunk driving.
  • Aggravated DUI: A BAC level of .15% or more could lead to two days up to six months in jail, fines of $100 to $1,000, or the required installation of an ignition interlock device.

Severe Incidents and Penalties

  • DUI incidents leading to another person’s death may result in 90 days to a year in jail plus a fine of $500 to $1,000, plus license revocation.
  • Disregarding others’ safety can incur up to a decade of jail time and $1,000 to $3,000 in fines.
  • Causing physical harm? Face a day to a year behind bars along with $250 to $1,000 in fines.

West Virginia applies strict rules for drivers’ BAC:

  • Commercial Drivers’ DUI: Those with BACs exceeding .04% will face the possibility of losing their license for one to three years, especially if caught carrying hazardous substances.
  • Private Motorists’ Reckless Driving: Police target BACs between .05 and .079%.
  • Zero-Tolerance for Underage Drinking: Drivers under 21 with BACs of .02% or more will likely face charges or be convicted of dangerous driving.
  • Serious Charges for High BAC: BACs above .15% come with great risk, potentially leading to aggravated DUI charges with six months in jail or more, a fine of $100 to $1,000, or the mandate to install an ignition interlock device.

Defense Against DUI Charges

If you or someone you know is confronting DUI charges and is unsure about the next steps, our experienced DUI defense Fairmont criminal lawyer in West Virginia, is ready to assist. For a comprehensive legal strategy tailored to your case, reach out today and schedule your consultation by calling us at (304) 900-339. Your legal resolution is just a phone call away.

Client Reviews

I had hired Mr. Logue a few years ago for my gf at the time for charges she had gotten before I had met her, for prostitution. Big mistake to date her and pay for her lawyer as we didn’t work out but Mr. Logue far exceeded expectations. He got nearly all charges in 2 separate cases dropped for her...


I was arrested on a felony 3 charge looking at at least up to 2 years in prison. County District Attorney didn't want to negotiate. After a lot of hard work, Sean was able to plead the case all the way down to just 90 days jail with a work release. Better deal than I realistically could have hoped...

Former Client

Mr. Logue took our son’s cases on very short notice (the first lawyer we hired wasn’t getting anywhere with either of the prosecutors and had actually turned one of the cases over to the court-appointed attorney). We hired Mr. Logue to go to trial if needed, but he worked with both prosecutors and...

Former Client

Get in Touch

Fill out the contact form or call us at (304) 381-3656
to schedule your free consultation.
  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer

Leave Us a Message