DUI Penalties

West Virginia has specific penalties for DUI offenses, which vary based on the number of prior convictions and blood alcohol concentration (BAC) levels. Understanding these penalties is crucial.

For drivers with no prior DUI cases, a suspected driver with a child under 16 years old may face up to 12 months of jail time. They can also anticipate a license suspension, mandatory ignition interlock device installation, and participation in education and treatment programs.

For one DUI case, the sentence ranges from six months to one year in jail, with a fine ranging from $1,000 to $3,000. Additionally, there is a one-year license suspension, the requirement for an ignition interlock device, and enrollment in an alcohol education program.

If a driver has two or more DUIs, the penalties become more severe. They may face one to three years in jail, a fine ranging from $3,000 to $5,000, a one-year license suspension, the mandatory use of an ignition interlock device, and enrollment in an education or treatment program.

  • Commercial drivers facing DUI charges typically have a BAC of .04% or higher, and they may face license suspension for one to three years if they were transporting hazardous chemicals at the time of the offense.
  • Private drivers may also face charges for reckless driving if their BAC level falls between .05% and .079%.
  • West Virginia has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under 21 years old, and even a BAC level of .02% or higher can result in Hancock County criminal lawyer charges and convictions.
  • For drivers with a BAC level of .15% or higher, the offense is considered aggravated DUI, carrying more severe penalties. Offenders may face jail time ranging from two days to six months, a fine ranging from $100 to $1,000, and the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.

Understanding the penalties associated with DUI offenses and BAC levels in West Virginia is crucial for all drivers.

Drunken Driving Defense

If you are seeking a strong defense against DUI charges, we encourage you to consult with our experienced Hancock County DUI lawyer and defense attorney in West Virginia. For scheduling an appointment, please contact us at (304) 900-339. We are here to help you walk free from these charges.

Client Reviews

I had hired Mr. Logue a few years ago for my gf at the time for charges she had gotten before I had met her, for prostitution. Big mistake to date her and pay for her lawyer as we didn’t work out but Mr. Logue far exceeded expectations. He got nearly all charges in 2 separate cases dropped for her...


I was arrested on a felony 3 charge looking at at least up to 2 years in prison. County District Attorney didn't want to negotiate. After a lot of hard work, Sean was able to plead the case all the way down to just 90 days jail with a work release. Better deal than I realistically could have hoped...

Former Client

Mr. Logue took our son’s cases on very short notice (the first lawyer we hired wasn’t getting anywhere with either of the prosecutors and had actually turned one of the cases over to the court-appointed attorney). We hired Mr. Logue to go to trial if needed, but he worked with both prosecutors and...

Former Client

Get in Touch

Fill out the contact form or call us at (304) 381-3656
to schedule your free consultation.
  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer

Leave Us a Message