Serving the State of West Virginia

DUI Penalties

  • Lead Counsel Rated
  • AVVO Client Choice
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • AVVO Top 10
  • Super Lawyers
  • Expertise 2020
  • Expertise 2021
  • PACDL
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 40

    DUI Penalties

    West Virginia has additional categories of penalties for convictions at other blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. Consider:

    • Commercial drivers can be convicted of drunk driving for having BACs of .04 percent or greater. They can also have their licenses suspended for one year; three years if they transported hazardous chemicals at the time of the offense.
    • Private motorists can be cited for impaired driving and could face a charge of reckless driving after demonstrating .05-.079 percent BACs.
    • Due to West Virginia’s “zero tolerance” policy, under-21 drivers demonstrating BACs of .02 percent or greater can be charged with and convicted of drunk driving.
    • Drivers who demonstrate “enhanced” BACs of .15 percent or greater face significantly increased penalties. For a first-time DUI arrest, this “aggravated DUI” can translate into two days to six months in jail, a $100-$1,000 fine; 45 days in jail, plus the possibility of a mandatory ignition interlock.
    • DUI drivers who cause or contribute to the death of another person within one year of the offense can face penalties of 90 days to one year in prison, a fine of $500-$1,000 and have their driver’s licenses revoked for five years. If “reckless disregard” for others’ safety can be proven, the penalties increase to 10 years in prison, a $1,000-$3,000 and 10 years in prison.
    • DUI drivers who cause bodily injury to another person face one day to one year in jail, a fine of $250-$1,000 and a two-year driver’s license revocation.

    West Virginia has additional categories of penalties for convictions at other blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. Consider:

    • Commercial drivers can be convicted of drunk driving for having BACs of .04 percent or greater. They can also have their licenses suspended for one year; three years if they transported hazardous chemicals at the time of the offense.
    • Private motorists can be cited for impaired driving and could face a charge of reckless driving after demonstrating .05-.079 percent BACs.
    • Due to West Virginia’s “zero tolerance” policy, under-21 drivers demonstrating BACs of .02 percent or greater can be charged with and convicted of drunk driving.
    • Drivers who demonstrate “enhanced” BACs of .15 percent or greater face significantly increased penalties. For a first-time DUI arrest, this “aggravated DUI” can translate into two days to six months in jail, a $100- $1,000 fine; 45 days in jail, plus the possibility of a mandatory ignition interlock.
    • DUI drivers who cause or contribute to the death of another person within one year of the offense can face penalties of 90 days to one year in prison, a fine of $500-$1,000 and have their driver’s licenses revoked for five years. If “reckless disregard” for others’ safety can be proven, the penalties increase to 10 years in prison, a $1,000-$3,000 and 10 years in prison.
    • DUI drivers who cause bodily injury to another person face one day to one year in jail, a fine of $250- $1,000 and a two-year driver’s license revocation.

    Drunk Driving Defense

    For a free consultation with an effective West Virginia DUI defense attorney, contact us online today, or by calling (304) 900-3391.

    Schedule a Free Consultation Today

    Schedule a Consultation
    • “Mr. Logue gave attention to our problem immediately and resolved the issue for us quickly. He is an attorney who is respected, not just by us but the court system.” - Former Client
    • “Sean Logue has a good relationship with the DA, but still pushed them to have a trial and I was found not guilty of the felony charge.” - Former Client
    • “Don't waste your time looking for anyone else to help you. Mr. Logue did an amazing job and very professional!” - Former Client

    CHoOSE A LAWYER LIKE YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT

    Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation

    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your phone number.
      This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.