CHOOSE A LAWYER LIKE YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT.
First Offense DUI in West Virginia
When it comes to DUI cases, they are considered serious crimes in the state of West Virginia. When an individual faces charges for a DUI crime, the degree of severity will depend on the nature of the crime. Don’t worry as it is not mandatorily the end of the world. But at the same time, you must not consider the first offense DUI as something that is to be taken easily or is a minor charge.
The first offense DUI is generally considered to be a minor felony or crime. Now, in most instances, drivers located in West Virginia make a common mistake. They think that the first offense is a minor crime and cover the fine. What they do not know is the charge is minor; the first offense cases of DUI may have a serious impact in the long run. And that is why hiring a Martinsburg DUI lawyer is necessary so that they can defend those drivers to acquit the entire charges for the first time.
When searching for a West Virginia DUI lawyer to help you resolve the first offense DUI cases, you need to come to Mountaineer Criminal Law Group. Having represented several clients in the past we hold the reputation of being one of the best law firms in the state of West Virginia.
Penalties to pay for First-Offense DUI cases in West Virginia
When it comes to West Virginia, several types of penalties are laid out for people committing DUI cases for the first time. Here is what you need to know.
- If the concentration of blood alcohol or BAC goes over .15%, then you will face jail time from about 48 hours to 6 months. On average, one is looking to serve prison time for at least 24 days. However, if it is below .15%, a fine amount of $500 will be levied or with higher levels, the penalty may go up to $1000
- In the case of a first-time offender, with a BAC level below .15%, it is termed a non-aggravated case of DUI. If you are facing conviction for this, you may need to let go of your driving license for about six months or the installation of an ignition interlock device for another 140 days will be necessary. If the BAC is above .15%, then it is considered an aggravated DUI. If you face conviction for this, you will face one year of license suspension or install an ignition interlock device for about ten and a half months.
When you are facing charges for a first-offense DUI case, you may feel overwhelmed to cover the fine and get away with no other punishments. But when it is about the impact of your fine, the consequences may go further or they may be more severe. You need to know that paying the fine amount is equivalent to pleading guilty, which may also mean that the offense will stay on record. Therefore, you need to look for a Martinsburg DUI lawyer to deal with the charges.
Contact a West Virginia DUI Lawyer
Your first offense might just be a mistake you did not commit deliberately. You may not get punishment for life. So, visit us at Mountaineer Criminal Law Group. Sean Logue of this firm has immense experience working as a Martinsburg DUI lawyer with a huge track record of delivering DUI cases with favorable outcomes. Visit us and we will take care of your trouble, or call us for an initial free consultation.
Get in TouchFill out the contact form or call us at (304) 381-3656
to schedule your free consultation.
- 1 Free Consultation
- 2 Available 24/7
- 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer