DUI FAQ

Understand Your Rights and Options When Facing DUI Charges

If you are facing DUI charges – whether for a first offense, second or subsequence – the stakes are high. Do not risk your freedom or your reputation by handling the case yourself or by working with a lawyer who does not have substantial experience handling DUI trials.

At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we have handled hundreds of criminal defense trials. We focus on DUI defense for clients in Morgantown and throughout West Virginia. We can help you understand your rights and options in your DUI trial and walk you through your DMV hearings to protect your driving privileges.

Can I Get a Work Permit to Drive To and From Work?

While it is possible in some cases to obtain a restricted license, it usually takes some time. However, through the West Virginia Test and Lock program, you can reduce the time of a suspended license.

Can the WV DMV Suspend My Out-of-State Driver’s License?

No. If you have an out-of-state driver’s license, the DMV can restrict your driving privileges for drunk driving within the state of West Virginia, but cannot suspend your license.

If I am a Nonresident, and My Driving Privileges are Suspended, Can I Drive in Other States?

While the West Virginia DMV can restrict your driving privileges within the state of West Virginia, but cannot stop you from driving in other states.

Can I Still Own a Firearm After a DUI Conviction?

You can lose your right to own a firearm if you are convicted of a felony DUI, but you will generally not lose your firearm rights for other DUI convictions.

Will I Go to Jail If Convicted for a DUI?

Jail time is not required for a first offense DUI conviction (BAC under .15), but it is possible. For anything more than a simple, first offense DUI conviction, you will face some mandatory jail time.

How Will a DUI Conviction Affect My Record?

If you are convicted for DUI in West Virginia, the conviction will remain as part of your permanent criminal record. Obviously, this will have a negative impact on your job and housing prospects and tarnish your reputation in the community. For first-time DUI offenders who had less and a .15 BAC, there are deferral programs available that include the possibility of dismissing the charges and expunging them from the driver’s permanent record.

Contact a West Virginia Suspended License Attorney

At Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, we offer free initial consultations, flexible arrangements and payment plans when needed. Contact us online or call us at (304) 900-3391.

Client Reviews

I had hired Mr. Logue a few years ago for my gf at the time for charges she had gotten before I had met her, for prostitution. Big mistake to date her and pay for her lawyer as we didn’t work out but Mr. Logue far exceeded expectations. He got nearly all charges in 2 separate cases dropped for her...

A.C.

I was arrested on a felony 3 charge looking at at least up to 2 years in prison. County District Attorney didn't want to negotiate. After a lot of hard work, Sean was able to plead the case all the way down to just 90 days jail with a work release. Better deal than I realistically could have hoped...

Former Client

Mr. Logue took our son’s cases on very short notice (the first lawyer we hired wasn’t getting anywhere with either of the prosecutors and had actually turned one of the cases over to the court-appointed attorney). We hired Mr. Logue to go to trial if needed, but he worked with both prosecutors and...

Former Client

Get in Touch

Fill out the contact form or call us at (304) 900-3391
to schedule your free consultation.
  1. 1 Free Consultation
  2. 2 Available 24/7
  3. 3 Highly Rated Super Lawyer

Leave Us a Message