Super Lawyers
Avvo
Avvo
National College for DUI Defense
Lead Counser Rated
The National Trial Lawyers
National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
PACDL
Expertise

Sex Crimes

In the hierarchy of crimes, those of a sexual nature are among the most serious – and being convicted of one can cause life-changing consequences including fines and lengthy jail sentences.

In the state of West Virginia, the following are considered sexual crimes:

Sexual Assault (First Degree) – A person is guilty of sexual assault in the first degree in West Virginia when he or she engages in sexual intercourse or sexual intrusion with another person, and, in doing so, inflicts bodily injury, or employs a deadly weapon during the act. In West Virginia, you are also guilty of sexual assault in the first degree if the perpetrator is 14 or older and engages in sexual intercourse with a person who is younger than 12 (and with whom he or she is not married). Sexual assault in the first degree is a felony in West Virginia. If convicted, the penalty is no less than 15 years and no more than 35 years in a state correctional facility. Additionally, a person convicted of sexual assault in the first degree in West Virginia may be fined between $1,000 and $10,000.

Sexual Assault (Second Degree) – A person is guilty of sexual assault in the second degree in West Virginia when he or she engages in intercourse with another person without consent and lack of consent results in forcible compulsion. A person is also guilty of sexual assault in the second degree in West Virginia if he or she engages in intercourse with a person who is physically helpless. Sexual assault in the second degree is a felony in West Virginia. If convicted, the penalty is no less than 10 years and no more than 25 years in jail. Additionally, a person convicted of sexual assault in the second degree in West Virginia may be fined between $1,000 and $10,000.

Sexual Assault (Third Degree) – A person is guilty of sexual assault in the third degree if he or she engages in sexual intercourse or intrusion with someone who is “mentally defective or mentally incapacitated.” A person is also guilty of sexual assault in the third degree in West Virginia if he or she engages in sexual intercourse or intrusion with a person younger than 16 (or someone at least four years younger than the defendant). Sexual assault in the third degree is a felony in the West Virginia. If convicted, the penalty is no less than one year and no more than 5 years in a state correctional facility. A fine of no more than $10,000 may also be assessed.

Sexual Abuse (First Degree) – A person is guilty of sexual abuse in the first degree if he or she subjects another person who is physically helpless to sexual contact without consent. A person who is at least 14, subjecting another person 12 or younger to sexual contact. Sexual abuse in the first degree is a felony in West Virginia. If convicted, the penalty is at least one year and no more than five years in a state correctional facility. A fine of no more than $10,000 may also be assessed. It should be noted that if the defendant is 18 or older and the victim is 12 or younger, then the penalty is no less than five years and no more than 25 years in a state correctional facility. A fine of as much as $5,000 may also be assessed.

Client Reviews
★★★★★
"I had hired Mr Logue a few years ago for my gf at the time for charges she had gotten before i had met her for prostitution. Big mistake to date her and pay for her lawyer as we didn’t work out but Mr Logue far exceeded expectations. He got nearly all charges in 2 separate cases dropped for her. My mistake to hire him for her but her blessing. I know she didn’t thank you enough so allow me to for her. Very highly recommend Mr. Logue.” A.C.
★★★★★
I was arrested on a felony 3 charge looking at at least up to 2 years in prison. County District Attorney didn't want to negotiate. After a lot of hard work, Sean was able to plead the case all the way down to just 90 days jail with a work release. Better deal than I realistically could have hoped for. Sean and his team worked hard for me. They're the best! Anonymous
★★★★★
After the salesmen told me my gun application "wouldn't be a problem," I was charged with an illegal attempt to posses a firearm. Sean Logue has a good relationship with the DA, but still pushed them to have a trial and I was found not guilty of the felony charge. Sean is a tough and smart lawyer who knows his way around the courtrooms. Anonymous
★★★★★
I am happy to be able to share this information with everyone. Mr. Logue gave attention to our problem immediately and resolved the issue for us quickly. He is an attorney who is respected, not just by us but the court system. I am thankful we found him, and would recommend him to anyone needing a great attorney to represent them. Anonymous
★★★★★
Mr Logue was the one I hired after talking to other attorneys about my case. He was the most knowledgeable and explained everything to me about his plan for me moving forward. He was always available to answer my questions and fought hard and got my charge dismissed!! Don't waste your time looking for anyone else to help you. Mr Logue did an amazing job and very professional! Anonymous