DUI - West Virginia
DUI Lawyer in West Virginia We, at Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, are here to offer you the best legal advice in the Morgantown area.
If you are in West Virginia and have been charged with DUI, then your future can be at risk. Drinking and driving are considered to be serious crime in West Virginia and that is why the consequences can involve a lot of measures like license suspension, imprisonment, huge penalties, and educational classes. Now, this case can affect your future chances of employment and higher education. In fact, you can have a difficult time finding a home too. However, as an offender, you get the right to a fair trial as you are not guilty until you are proven to be. Hence, you will not get an automatic prison sentence with the charges.
So, if you are in a situation where you have been charged with DUI and you are looking for an experienced Morgantown DUI lawyer, then come to us at Mountaineer Criminal Law Group. We are an experienced team that can help you defend yourself and will make sure that you get only zero to minimum punishments. Get in touch with our Morgantown criminal lawyer today.What Mountaineer Criminal Law Firm Can Do for You?
In West Virginia, around only 3% of lawyers have experience dealing with cases involving DUI. That is why finding an experienced Morgantown DUI lawyer can feel like a cumbersome task for you. But when it comes to defending the case, it is necessary that you hire a professional. And that is where we, Mountaineer Criminal Law Group, can help you. We offer expert legal advice along with complete defense with the assurance of reducing the punishments and penalties substantially. We have years of experience in dealing the cases like DUI and our Morgantown criminal lawyer will diligently try to help you.Types of Cases We Handle
Take a look at the following types of cases we handle.First DUI
According to the West Virginia Drunk Driving Laws, if your BAC or blood alcohol concentration is higher than .15%, then you can get 48 hours to 6 months jail sentence, along with a $1000 fine. For BAC below .15%, you will have to give a fine of $500 and in this case, there is no minimum jail time.Multiple DUI
If you have been charged with multiple DUI, then you will be dealing with serious consequences. You will get six months to one year jail time or house arrest along with penalties of $100 to $3000. You might lose the license for 10 years.Aggravated DUI
Aggravated DUI cases are those where the BA is more than .15%. The charges and the subsequent punishments will be extreme in these cases. If you are dealing with aggravated DUI, then there can be other charges too like death or injury caused by the DUI, speeding, driving with a minor in the car and so on. You can also get charged for driving under the influence when your license is suspended or revoked. As for punishments, you will get imprisonment, a fine, suspension of your license, and compulsory installation ignition interlock device.
Apart from these cases, there are more charges that we deal with, that include,
- Underage DUI
- DUI involving drugs
- DUI while driving with a minor in the car
- DUI causing injuries
- DMV hearings
Our Morgantown DUI lawyer will ensure that you get the rightful justice.DUI/DWI – Criminal and DMV Cases in West Virginia
If you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in West Virginia, you are subject to two legal cases for which you will need representation.
Attorney Sean Thomas Logue of Mountaineer Criminal Law Group devotes a majority of his practice to DUI defense. He can listen to your concerns and work to keep your driving privileges and to have your charges dropped. You may reach him at (304) 584-DUI1.One State, Two Defenses: Why You Need a West Virginia DUI Defense Lawyer
The most obvious of these two legal cases is the criminal court case, for which a conviction can result in jail, fines, driver’s license suspension, required treatment and educational programs, and other penalties, such as a mandatory ignition interlock – a device into which you must breathe a “clean” breath sample before your vehicle will start.
The second case takes place before the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). It is separate from your criminal court case, but can dramatically affect your ability to drive. Once you receive notification of your license suspension, you have 30 days to request, in writing, a hearing to defend your driving privileges.
Due to the complexity of West Virginia DUI laws and hearing procedures, it is advised that you hire a skilled West Virginia defense lawyer to represent you at the hearing.Implied Consent: Circumstantial Evidence
West Virginia’s implied consent law requires you to submit to a chemical test if requested by an officer during his or her investigation. Although refusal is not a criminal offense, you will lose your driving privileges unless you prevail at a DMV hearing. Further, you can be convicted on circumstantial evidence, without evidence provided by a chemical test.What are the West Virginia DUI Penalties?
A DUI conviction can seriously impair your ability to acquire and maintain auto, health, life and disability insurance. Insurers can and do raise premiums and cancel policies in response to DUI convictions.
Penalties for drinking and driving in West Virginia vary widely, depending on your number of prior convictions, level of intoxication and other factors. Please read our Driver’s License Penalties page for more information on penalties specific to a West Virginia DUI.First-Time Offender Program – New Law, New Options
In 2009, West Virginia created a new DUI deferral program for first-time offenders. A new law makes it possible for DUI offenders, except for those whose actions injured or killed another person, to have their DUI charge dismissed if they meet certain conditions.
These conditions include attending safety and treatment classes, completing 165 days on an ignition interlock program, and a 15-day driver’s license suspension. The offense can be expunged from the driver’s record after one year, provided there are no further offenses.
To learn if the first-time offender program is a good fit for you, consult with our experienced West Virginia defense lawyer who is knowledgeable about DUI Law.DUI and Drugs Defense
Even if you have a prior DUI conviction, you may still be able to win your case. As your lawyer, I can check out police reports and other records for evidence to prove your innocence. When possible, I will petition to have your charges dropped or, at least, work to limit your penalties as much as possible.West Virginia DUI Defense Lawyer – Morgantown Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer
Whether you are a West Virginia resident or from another state, Attorney Sean Thomas Logue of Mountaineer Criminal Law Group can defend you against a DUI charge involving alleged drugs or alcohol, and he will work to preserve your driving privileges. It is important, however, that you act quickly. For a free consultation, call us at (304) 584-DUI1 today.